Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Recess: It's Child's Play



Join us on October 26, 2010 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT for a KABOOM sponsored webinar titled “Recess: It's Child's Play”. Peaceful Playgrounds a longtime advocate for all children’s Right to Recess will present on the topic of the value of recess. Peaceful Playground creator and founder Melinda Bossenmeyer says, “Recess matters!” It provides opportunities for cultural exchange, solitary play, reduction of anxiety in children, and educators' assessments of children's peer social skills. Peaceful Playgrounds is a research-based program that aims to create environments in which children might thrive by facilitating motor development, cognitive development, and social skill interaction. Check out play expert JC Boushh of Peaceful Playgrounds in a KaBOOM!-led webinar that introduces participants to the research behind why recess matters, and strategies that help reduce bullying and playground conflicts and foster happier students and school staff.