Is your city a "Let's Move City"?

Contributed by Andrea Bossenmeyer

First Lady Michelle Obama is making more progress with the Let's Move campaign. A presentation was made at the Conference of Mayors, 470 Mayors decided to make their town or city a Let's Move City.

Want to know if your city is one of them? Let's Move Cities & Towns. I'm very pleased to see that all 3 major metropolis' that I've lived in have joined. Riverside, San Diego and Los Angeles!


Arcata, Baldwin Park, Barstow, Bell Gardens, Burbank, Camarillo, Chula Vista, Cloverdale, Coachella, Corona, Cupertino, Emeryville, Fountain Valley, Fremont, Fresno, Hercules, Indio, La Mesa, Livermore, Long Beach, Los Angeles, Los Gatos, Malibu, Mendota, Novato, Oakland, Paramount, Pleasanton, Rancho Cucamonga, Reedley, Riverside, Rolling Hills Estates, Sacramento, Salinas, San Diego, San Francisco, San Leandro, Santa Ana, Santa Cruz, Santa Monica, Sierra Madre, South El Monte, Suisun City

What does this mean for your area? (Taken Directly from Let's move website, visit link below to learn more)

Let’s Move Cities and Towns is designed to encourage mayors and elected officials to adopt a long-term, sustainable, and holistic approach to fight childhood obesity. This initiative recognizes that every city is different, and every town will require a distinct approach to the issue. Once an elected official signs up as a prospective Let’s Move City or a Let’s Move Town, he or she will choose at least one significant action to take over the following twelve months in each of the four pillar areas:

  1. Help Parents Make Healthy Family Choices
  2. Create Healthy Schools
  3. Provide Access to Healthy and Affordable Food
  4. Promote Physical Activity